The Ins and Outs of Phlebotomy Certification

If selecting a career in Phlebotomy is in your future than you will want to know if Phlebotomy certification is necessary in your state.
For one to be eligible for certification, an applicant must satisfy the requirements of at least one of the following listed below:

What are the Phlebotomy Certification Requirements?

• High School Diploma or GED along with the completion of an accredited phlebotomy training program within the last 5 years.

• High School Diploma or GED, along with the completion of a formal phlebotomy training program in a lab setting within the last 5 years. The training must have 40 hours of classroom training and at least 100 clock hours of clinical training with meeting the required number of successful venipuncture procedures.

• High School Diploma or GED, and at least one year work experience as a phlebotomy technician in laboratory within the last five years.

• High School Diploma or GED, and successful completion of any healthcare related program that does include phlebotomy training with at least 100 successful procedures.

• ASCP or ASCP certification

• ASCP certification, with a minimum of 100 successful blood collections in a laboratory within the last 5 years.

How a Phlebotomy Certification Qualifies you

Here are the benefits to phlebotomy certification:
• Phlebotomist Salary Increase

• Increased Advancement Opportunities

• Job Security

• Increase in Overall Expertise and Confidence

• Ability to be Employed anywhere in the U.S. as a certified phlebotomist

Are There Levels of Phlebotomist Certification?

There are three levels of phlebotomy certification:

• Phlebotomy technician duties are limited and is only authorized to do skin puncture blood collection.

• Certified phlebotomy technician I – Phlebotomy technician is authorized to do any venipuncture procedures and some skin procedures

• Certified phlebotomy technician II – Phlebotomy Technician is authorized to do any and all venipuncture, arterial puncture and skin puncture procedures.

How Long Does The Certification Last?

Most states have a 2-3 year venipuncture certification. See your state board for more details for your respective state.

Where can you get Certified as a Phlebotomist?

A phlebotomist can get certification from a few different national bodies like the Society of Phlebotomy Technicians, the National Phlebotomy Association and the American Association for Clinical Pathology are leaders in the phlebotomy field. All are great options for your phlebotomy certification. There also may be an online phlebotomy certification available for working healthcare professionals.

Are all the Phlebotomy Certifying Bodies Equal?

After completing a phlebotomy training program and passing the exams during training are not the only end of your requirements for becoming a phlebotomist. Each certifying body has a few differing requirements. Some of the organizations even have their own certification exams. It will help you immensely to find out which requirements are needed for the organization you choose to get your phlebotomy certification from. These decisions can be helpful to the long term growth of your phlebotomy salary.

Read More

Back to Top